Illiana Heating & Air Conditioning Inc Reviews - Cedar Lake, IN | Angi (2023)

1.0

09/06/2022

gary H.

Illiana came to fix our 2nd floor A/C unit that was leaking. The tech, Jim, said he there was a blockage in the drain line and that he would get it cleared by blowing it out. He blew it out---ALL OVER OUR MASTER BATHROOM!!! It was a complete eruption of the sink drain! Smelly, black, grimmy, and grotesque slime coated our custom walnut vanity cabinets, granite countertops, tile floor, walls, ceiling, mirrors, light fixtures, doors, clothes, cologne/perfume bottles, makeup, and my $5000 hearing aids and charger were submerged in sludge. RUINED. I immediately sent photos and video to their office and explained the situation to one of the girls that took my call. I then asked Jim what he was going to do and he said that there was nothing he can do about it, but someone would call me tomorrow. He then told me to have a good night and he left. As he walked away, I asked if he was just going to leave this mess for my wife and I to deal with and he said it wasn't his fault, and nothing he could do about it. He got in his truck and drove away. I called the office and Mary (general manager) said that she was aware of the situation and had spoken to the owner, but there wasn't anything else they could do about it. I asked if a cleaning crew was on the way to handle the mess Jim caused, and she said that she hadn't been advised to do anything about the situation. I asked to speak to the owner, but she said that wasn't possible. She said there wasn't anything else they could do, but she would try an have someone call me tomorrow. I asked her what we were supposed to do with the disaster left by the exploded sink drain, and she said that she didn't understand what I wanted done, but it was too late in the day for them to do anything. It was about 4pm CDT. We ended the call. I called Americlean and they showed up in under an hour to clean and sanitize the bathroom. $958.63 for the three-hour cleaning, $600 worth of makeup and perfume in the trash, $5000 hearing aids ruined, and several other minor incidental damages. Illiana never called us. Worst customer service imaginable. Unspeakable way to be treated. My wife and I are frustrated beyond description. Had it not been for the hearing aids, we likely would have just accepted it, but because of the lack of response, lack of accountability, and cost of the damages they caused we are pursuing legal action against Illiana. Check out the photos of this disaster that we posted in our Google review!

Description of Work
A/C unit leaking

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

There was an unfortunate accident that occurred while clearing this customer's drain out. Due to the size and nature of the accident we elected to have our insurance cover the damages. We have been in consistent communication with the customer throughout the process, contrary to their assertion we have ignored and abandoned them. While we wish this unfortunate accident had not occurred in the first place, we are not behaving in the manner portrayed in this review and hope the overwhelmingly positive review from hundreds of other customers can serve to portray how we treat our customers

1.0

05/03/2018

Joshua M.

This was the worse company I have ever worked with. It started with them not getting the proper permits even though I reminded them many times they needed them. Then they failed the inspection from the HVAC inspector miserably. They were going to leave a huge hole in my ceiling. When they finally passed, but the system is worthless. They have come back a few times and have not been able to get the system to work as they promised. The A/C cannot even maintain 10 degrees below outside temps and they promised 30. They first blamed my filter. Then the unit which they turned the blower way up on so it sounds like a jet engine. Finally my insulation which, I made them well aware of from the beginning, and was assure it would just not be as efficient but give me the desired 30 degrees below outside temp I needed. They also added 2 new runs into a room that are completely ineffective. They promised to make sure I had enough CFM in there but never checked it as they promised they would. I would never use them or recommend them. I WASTED MY MONEY on them, the new system is as loud as my old one because they had to crank the blower up to try to get the little cooling I do.

Description of Work
Full heating system and adding Central Air

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

We have worked with this customer as much as possible to try to reach a satisfactory resolution.

3.0

09/29/2017

kenneth C.

Everything was fine until I looked at the furnace diffuser they installed on the side of my house. It's a big white diffuser drilled through the side of my house at eye level. I asked Dan if we could change the color and make it less of an eyesore. Or even lower it a few feet. He said the only color it came in was white and he would ask his installer if we could move it, I waited a week or two and never heard from him. I had to reach out to him again and he said he I could stop over and have a look at it so it looks like I'll have to take another day off work.

Description of Work
Replace furnace and air conditioning unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

We addressed the concerns and changed the termination kit to a different color one of the customer's liking. I hope they see this and are able to adjust their review accordingly

5.0

09/07/2017

Virginia M.

I have a contract with them. I use them all the time. They're very good. Been with them 6 years. They come out twice a year.

Description of Work
Service check up.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thanks!

5.0

05/01/2017

Frank S.

Turned out to be an issue with the thermostat. Everything was address quickly with no mess.

Description of Work
HVAC system not working

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Great!

5.0

04/26/2017

STEVEN C.

Excellent in all aspects, from the quality of their equipment to the technical proficiency and professionalism of their technicians.

Description of Work
I have been using ILLIANA HEATING & A/C INC for a number of years, with very satisfactory results. They started by servicing the existing equipment and over time, as the equipment were getting older, we replaced both the furnace and the air conditioning units. Their quality of work is top of the line and their responsiveness is excellent!

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your continued confidence and kind words.

04/11/2017

Richard S.

The were good. For price I don't have a lot of comparison, I think they do good so price isn't much of a concern. They put the furnace in this house, but that was a long time ago like 18 years or so. I think they are fair and honest.

Description of Work
We have a contract where they come out twice a year getting you ready for summer and getting you ready for winter. The monthly contract includes discounts on any work that is needed. It also includes any routine maintenance twice a year checking the air conditioning and heating.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind review and being one of our valued clients. We're so glad you have trusted us to take care of your home comfort system.

5.0

02/14/2017

David S.

Done very well with recommendations and very quickly. Always professional.

Description of Work
Routine Fall service on furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind review and continued confidence in our team!

5.0

01/12/2017

Kim M.

They charged $99 per furnace. That's who I use. I think they are knowledgeable, competent and thorough with their work. They are very open to explain if the consumer may have a question about their furnace or air conditioning units. I have two furnaces and two air conditioners so it took them about two hours to maintenance my furnaces.

Description of Work
In the fall I had Illiana come and do my service.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words and continued business.

1.0

12/26/2016

Dave D.

Didn't seem interested when he realized it was going to be a simple job, kept trying to sell a solution that would've cost an extra $800 at least. In fact S.O.B. never even called back after initial consultation

Description of Work
Needed to replace a dying in wall heater

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

The only thing I can do is apologize because I don't have any other information to go off of. I don't show any record of us ever having visited your location or doing any work there.

5.0

12/20/2016

Andrew N.

They completed the work while I was away for business. I came to find my house neater than I left it. I could t find one visible trace of them being in the home. Their work was impeccable and our home is so much more comfortable.

Description of Work
I had Illiana replace my air conditioner, furnace, whole house humidifier, and water heater.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business and kind review. It is a pleasure to be able to serve a great customer like you!

5.0

07/28/2016

Ivan L.

I needed the air ducts cleaned so I called Illiana. Pam was very courteous over the phone and gave me an exact quote along with several discounts and was able to send someone over the following day. Zach did a very good job in cleaning all the air ducts with the exception of one in the kitchen. He offered a fair explanation as to how the duct was at a steep angle so that getting the brush in there was not possible without damaging the equipment. He offered advice on filters and other explanations before the work was done so that there were no suprises. Overall, I am very satisfied and would use the company's services in the future.

Description of Work
Air duct cleaning

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thanks!

07/01/2016

William W.

No issues encountered Techincian understood the purpose of the visit. Completed expert check of equiprment and provided information on condition and potential - future issues. Received a follow-up call the next day regarding our satisfaction and potential new equipment needs.

Description of Work
Provided HVAC check-up >> Air Conditioning Unit

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind review and trusting us with your home safety and comfort

5.0

06/16/2015

Jackie G.

I have been using them for at least 10 years. They have a maintenance contract. When you don't know what you are doing, like me, they come in twice a year to clean my air conditioner and furnace. With the furnace I kind of feel like they saved my life because they told me there were some cracks in my heat exchanger that were emitting carbon monoxide back into the house, which I did not know, so I had to get a new furnace lickety split. That maintenance contract helped me a lot because I probably would not have done it and maybe died in my house. He even showed me what was going on. I pay $200 for my maintenance agreement.

Description of Work
I use Illiana Heating & Air Conditioning. They were last here to clean my furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, energy audit

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your faithful business throughout the years. Customers like you make the job so much easier.

5.0

06/05/2015

Diane W.

From the minute I called, everything went extremely well. The ladies that took my call Mary and Pam were extremely helpful. Called at 08:06 am. Expected arrival time was between 09:30-10:30 am. Was called back at 08:32 to say a Tech was on his way. The Tech, Kevin Parsley, arrived shortly thereafter. Kevin was very polite and efficient. He was done in less than an hour. Illiana Heating and A/C installed a whole house system in our house in Calumet City back in the 80's. I was extremely happy with them then and are still extremely happy with them now. The price indicated was minus a 10% percent discount on the total bill, not just the service call, for Angie's List Members.

Description of Work
Checked out our A/C. Found it was low on charge. Recharged the system.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the opportunity to earn your business and your kind review!

5.0

04/22/2015

Chuck W.

They were excellent, we had great experience with them. The service man was really friendly and informative.

Description of Work
Illiana Heating & Air Conditioning came out and checked our air conditioning.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thanks!

4.0

04/22/2015

MUJIBUR M.

It was great. He was very professional and the price is reasonable I guess. The extra work was fine because we were selling the house so we just want to make sure that there’s nothing major issue. Their prices are not cheap but they are not super expensive. The price is slightly higher price for the job. The guy who came in, he was a very friendly guy. He was punctual.

Description of Work
I used Illiana Heating & Air Conditioning to do a tune up. He also did some extra work.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Our records indicate we only performed a tune up on your equipment - I'm not sure what other work you're referencing, but thank you for taking the time to complete a review

5.0

04/22/2015

greg B.

It was very good. The price was what they estimated, they did very quality work, and they explained everything and what they were doing very well. I used them a couple of times. Their price was very competitive. They met everything.

Description of Work
Illiana Heating & Air Conditioning Inc. installed a new air conditioner.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business and kind words

4.0

04/22/2015

ryan P.

It was fine but I think they're price is a little bit on the high side.

Description of Work
Illiana Heating & Air Conditioning fixed our air conditioner.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

I'm sorry we were not able to fully establish the value of our services when we were at your home. Please consider giving us another opportunity to earn your life-long business

5.0

04/22/2015

Raymond V.

It turned out just fine. They're always excellent. They're very courteous and professional. They always clean up after themselves. They always suggest things that were appropriate.

Description of Work
They did a furnace check up and maintenance.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thanks!

4.0

04/20/2015

Christopher S F.

They did good work. They were quick to respond.

Description of Work
They did a couple of services.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, energy audit

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to respond and for your continued patronage.

5.0

04/20/2015

Diane D.

I like them- I would call them again.

Description of Work
It was a routine check on the furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Many Thanks!

4.0

04/20/2015

brian K.

They are professional, courteous, on time and did a good job. They did what they said they're going to do. I had them at my house once and at my business once. Their pricing was fair.

Description of Work
I use Illiana Heating & Air Conditioning probably 6 months ago. They put in a new furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

04/20/2015

Marlene R.

The service is fine and they are very professional.

Description of Work
We use Illiana Heating & Air Conditioning.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the Stellar review!

5.0

04/20/2015

Robert K.

They were wonderful. We have a duplex apartment across the street from our house and they put a furnace in each side. They were professional. Once the heating came on, they had to adjust something and once he air conditioning came on, they had to come back and adjust something on one side and they did that without any problem at all. They came out when they were supposed to. They did fine. They knew what they were doing.

Description of Work
They installed two furnaces.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for allowing us the opportunity to serve you and for your trust in us.

Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Merrill Bechtelar CPA

Last Updated: 10/08/2022

Views: 5802

Rating: 5 / 5 (70 voted)

Reviews: 85% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Merrill Bechtelar CPA

Birthday: 1996-05-19

Address: Apt. 114 873 White Lodge, Libbyfurt, CA 93006

Phone: +5983010455207

Job: Legacy Representative

Hobby: Blacksmithing, Urban exploration, Sudoku, Slacklining, Creative writing, Community, Letterboxing

Introduction: My name is Merrill Bechtelar CPA, I am a clean, agreeable, glorious, magnificent, witty, enchanting, comfortable person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.